#NaNoWriMo Second Progress Update

So, I’m looking at the calendar and I notice it is a few days past the midway point and I am nowhere near the halfway point of the 50,000 word goal. Panic time? Oh hell yeah it’s time to panic!

9f9100f5b90b93071440ad30509d3a2300690192c6a3e09995d5ccf127739a15

I’ve never been this far behind before. There are several reasons/excuses I can give for having written only 15,000 something words at this point. Hey, for fun, I’m going to turn this into a top ten top five list.

Top 5 Reasons I’m Sucking At NaNoWriMo

5. Work Stuff.

Ignore the fact that I live five minutes from work for a second. Actually ignore it completely. Fact is, I’m always tired when I come home. Staring at a screen all day doesn’t really get me excited to stare at a screen all night too (ignore the fact that I stare at a TV screen all night anyway). Also, I can’t write at work. Scrap that. I’m not allowed to. Or I assume it would be bad if I did. But that doesn’t stop me from thinking about what to write later. Unfortunately, work has kept me quite busy and unable to even do that this year.

4. Feline Troubles.

I have two middle aged cats. Earlier in the year, I had three cats. Mitzi was the youngest, or so I had thought. But with the state her kidneys were in, she probably was older than the eight or nine years I estimated her to be. She was a cat I rescued from abandonment five years ago. I loved her and without bringing myself to tears again, I’ll make a long story short: I had to put her down. It sucked. It was horrible. Then I noticed my 11 year old male cat was losing weight. I feared it was a result of kidney problems, like Mitzi. So with this worry in my mind, I brought him to the vet and got his blood tested and everything. Turns out he’s hyperthyroid. Which isn’t too worrying if I get it under control. But that also means I have to give him a pill split in two and given two times a day for the foreseeable future. Anything for my cat, though.

3. Social Obligations.

I’ve never been so popular! Haha, just kidding. But there has been a few birthdays to attend, a baby shower coming up, a girls night out at a concert coming up, babysitting the nephews jobs, and a blood donor clinic I rolled up my sleeves for. Most of those events take up time on the weekend I should be using to write. But you know, I don’t want to be a bad friend or ignore my family. So there’s that.

2. Personal Worries.

2015 hasn’t been a great year for me. Let’s be realistic, it hasn’t been necessarily bad for me either, compared to what’s going on in the world these days. I guess it’s okay, though, to say that it’s been difficult. When my cat died, it made my “small” depression balloon into something monster sized. I didn’t write much for months. Luckily, I was already on the way to treating that when all that went down. I’m on medication now and feel a lot better. But then there were other health worries. Like I mentioned before, I was always tired. I was bruising easily over the summer. I had more colds than I was used to getting. My liver enzymes were high. And I fainted in the vet’s office (totally embarrassing, by the way). I had more blood tests and in the meantime, I asked Dr. Google instead of my real doctor what could be wrong. I was convinced I was dying (I’m not a hypochondriac, I just get bored sometimes…and google symptoms…for fun…). Anyway, I was waiting for those results most of November. Suffice to say it was hard to concentrate on writing when all I could think of was the results. Finally, I got a call back this past Monday: everything is back to normal. Phew. It was probably just my stupid thyroid being all hypo again.

1. Procrastination.

Simply put, procrastination is the devil. I don’t know how many times I found myself staring at the screen and thinking of something else or doing something else “important”, like cleaning the house. Not to mention all the times I told myself I’d catch up on the weekend only to be troubled by one of the above. Procrastination is never good with me. I don’t work well under pressure, usually. In university, I never waited till the last minute to start a research paper. Now, I don’t know why, but I’ve been plagued by procrastination almost all year long, most likely due to all the above.

cat-meme-i-cannot-brain-today-dumb

In the end, it’s not for lack of creativity; I know what to write. Things have even changed from my vague outline once I did get to writing, and probably for the better. So, with about a week left, I’ll simply do my best to reach the goal. If I don’t make it, it won’t be a big deal because no matter what, I have thousands more words now than I did at the beginning of November. And that right there is worth it.

Sken:nen,

vee
Leave a Reply

