#NaNoWriMo Update

For the fourth year in a row, I decided to participate in NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month. If you don’t know what it is, in a nutshell, it’s basically challenging yourself to write a novel – or 50,000 words – in a month. It also serves to get your butt in the chair and write, which can be hard for many writers. NaNoWriMo makes writing daily a routine. Sometimes it carries on into December, but most of the time, at least for me, I’m too beat by then to continue. Especially if I’ve won. And I’ve won every year since 2012.

I’m not sure if I’m going to make it this year. I find myself already behind by a couple thousand words. At least I know what to write, having outlined vaguely what I wanted to put to paper back in October. I’m a bit of a pantser, in that sometimes I go way off the outline. But surprises are good so what the hell, eh?

So I’m going to save my writing energy for NaNoWriMo and hopefully win for a fourth time in a row. In the meantime, here’s a little snippet of what I’m working on this November (un-edited and raw – my apologies, it’s write not edit!):

Snow flurries drifted lazily from the sky, landing onto the gnarled branches above. Veromaia gestured for a halt. This was the spot she had dreamed about. Esmond stopped beside her, a questioning gaze screwing up his face. The pair of imbecilic Blayvian Guards behind him scanned the trees warily. They were outside of the town walls, far away from the protection of the Ledonian army. It would be so easy for Veromaia to just snap all their necks and take the army for herself. To blame the king’s death on a wild animal or an unfortunate accident. No one would be the wiser.

But she still needed the idiot.

If you want to check my progress, visit my NaNo profile.

Sken:nen,

vee

Leave a Reply

